Day 3: 7 April 2014

Today it poured with rain and Peter and I got absolutely drenched to the skin. My so-called waterproof was not. However, on we pressed! Peter spent the day doing geo-radar and managed to pick up  the water pipes as well as some possible hut bases. I spent the day cleaning 3 faces of each entrance pillar and recording the rings of barbed wire, the barbed wire hooks and the original posts for the gate. My new proposal (although it isn’t up to me!) for the future of the camp’s entrance pillars is to leave the side facing the houses and private road (the west side) covered in ivy, so that the residents don’t have to look at them (they look like trees when covered in foliage) and so that tourists wouldn’t walk down the private road to have a look. I would then like to leave at least a couple of faces clean so that the pillars can be seen from the road. As the landowners plan to put up information boards by the side of the marsh explaining the historical and wildlife importance of the camp, then it will be extremely disappointing for passers-by to see nothing at all. If at least one face of each pillar plus the pillar cap is still covered in ivy, then the wildlife (currently woodlice and spiders as far as I can detect) will still have a home on the entrance pillars plus there would be something of note to see. Of course, the barbed wire and concrete has been well preserved and protected by the foliage up till now, but I would like to see something revealed for visitors. 

The exciting moment for today was when we removed the foliage from the top of the north entrance pillar. In the end, the ivy slipped off the pedestal like a wig, so we were able to photograph it and measure it and then put the ‘wig’ back on! I shall save that photo until the end of this season of fieldwork as I’d like to save it for a lecture I’m giving in Jersey on 16th April, before we leave, so instead today’s photo is of Peter Masters doing the geo-radar!Image 

Tags: , , , , ,

About Gilly Carr

I am a Senior Lecturer in Archaeology at the University of Cambridge's Institute of Continuing Education. I work in the field of conflict archaeology and POW archaeology, and my fieldwork is based in the Channel Islands.

Leave a Reply

